

29 municipal councils across Canada pass journalism-support motions from 2020-2022

<u>Region of Waterloo</u> councillors, on June 30, 2020, unanimously passed the following motion:

"Therefore Be It Resolved that Waterloo Regional Council recognizes that a healthy, professional news media is essential to the proper functioning of democracy in the region; urges other municipal councils within the region and across Canada to recognize that a robust news media is essential to the proper functioning of democracy in their jurisdictions; endorses legislation and regulations to support and rejuvenate news outlets across Canada; and urges the federal government to move quickly to pass legislation to ensure an ecosystem for a healthy news media to serve all Canadians. And that the resolution be forwarded to the area municipalities, local M.P.s and M.P.P.s and the Federation of Canadian Municipalities and Association of Municipalities of Ontario." During this Ink-stained Wretches campaign, councillors in 29 Canadian municipalities — home to nearly 11 million people in nine provinces — passed similarly worded resolutions expressing support for local journalism.

- City of Mississauga, ON (March 23, 2022)
- City of Vancouver, BC (Jan. 26, 2022)
- City of Saint John, NB (Jan. 24, 2022)
- City of Charlottetown, PEI (Sept. 13, 2021)
- Halifax Regional Municipality, NS (June 29, 2021)
- Montréal, QC (June 14, 2021)
- City of Edmonton, Alta. (June 7, 2021)
- City of Winnipeg, Man. (April 29, 2021)
- City of Kamloops, BC (April 20, 2021)
- City of London, ON (April 13, 2021)
- Chatham-Kent, ON (April 12, 2021)
- City of St. John's, NL (April 5, 2021)
- City of Prince George, BC (March 22, 2021)
- City of Toronto, ON (March 10, 2021)
- Town of Saugeen Shores, ON (Nov. 23, 2020)
- District of Tofino, BC (Oct. 27, 2020)
- City of Kitchener, ON (Sept. 14, 2020)
- Town of Essex, ON (Sept. 8, 2020)
- Town of LaSalle, ON (Sept. 8, 2020)
- City of Cambridge, ON (Sept. 8, 2020)
- City of Kingston, ON (Sept. 1, 2020)
- City of Windsor, ON (Aug. 24, 2020)
- City of Hamilton, ON (July 17, 2020)
- Township of Wellesley, ON (June 30, 2020)
- Township of Woolwich, ON (June 23, 2020)
- Township of North Dumfries, ON (June 22, 2020)
- Township of Wilmot, ON (June 22, 2020)
- City of Waterloo, ON (June 22, 2020)
- Region of Waterloo, ON (June 3, 2020)